A third option: Inbox eSIM, no app and no account, QR by email.Find your country →
How they differ
| Feature | MMMaya Mobile | HHolafly | IEInbox eSIM |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plans | Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.source | Mostly unlimited data by days (1 to 90), local, regional or global; also monthly 25 GB or unlimited subscriptions.source | Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries |
| App or account | Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.source | No app needed to buy: checkout on the website with an email; the app is optional (log in with that email).source | None: no app and no account |
| How you get it | Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.source | QR code sent by email right after payment; also shown in your Holafly account and the app.source | QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying |
| When days start | When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.source | When you turn on data roaming for the eSIM at the destination; on iOS 16.4+ install may also activate it.source | When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country |
| Hotspot | Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.source | Limited per destination: for example 1 GB of shareable data per day in Japan (7 GB on a 7-day plan).source | Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it) |
| Top-ups | Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.source | No top-ups: for more days you buy and install a new eSIM.source | Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page |
| Phone number | Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.source | Day plans are data only. The monthly Unlimited subscription adds a local number for incoming SMS.source | No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM |
| Refunds | No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.source | Not activated, within 6 months: full refund to the original payment method. Used: partial, USD 3.50 fee.source | Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK) |
| Support | 24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.source | 24/7 chat on the website, app and WhatsApp, plus email at help@holafly.com.source | Email, around the clock; a person answers |
| Payment | Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.source | Visa, Mastercard, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay (payment logos shown on plan pages).source | Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe) |
Plans
- Maya Mobile
- Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.
- Holafly
- Mostly unlimited data by days (1 to 90), local, regional or global; also monthly 25 GB or unlimited subscriptions.
- Inbox eSIM
- Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or account
- Maya Mobile
- Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
- Holafly
- No app needed to buy: checkout on the website with an email; the app is optional (log in with that email).
- Inbox eSIM
- None: no app and no account
How you get it
- Maya Mobile
- Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.
- Holafly
- QR code sent by email right after payment; also shown in your Holafly account and the app.
- Inbox eSIM
- QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days start
- Maya Mobile
- When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.
- Holafly
- When you turn on data roaming for the eSIM at the destination; on iOS 16.4+ install may also activate it.
- Inbox eSIM
- When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
Hotspot
- Maya Mobile
- Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.
- Holafly
- Limited per destination: for example 1 GB of shareable data per day in Japan (7 GB on a 7-day plan).
- Inbox eSIM
- Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)
Top-ups
- Maya Mobile
- Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.
- Holafly
- No top-ups: for more days you buy and install a new eSIM.
- Inbox eSIM
- Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone number
- Maya Mobile
- Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.
- Holafly
- Day plans are data only. The monthly Unlimited subscription adds a local number for incoming SMS.
- Inbox eSIM
- No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
Refunds
- Maya Mobile
- No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.
- Holafly
- Not activated, within 6 months: full refund to the original payment method. Used: partial, USD 3.50 fee.
- Inbox eSIM
- Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)
Support
- Maya Mobile
- 24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.
- Holafly
- 24/7 chat on the website, app and WhatsApp, plus email at help@holafly.com.
- Inbox eSIM
- Email, around the clock; a person answers
Payment
- Maya Mobile
- Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.
- Holafly
- Visa, Mastercard, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay (payment logos shown on plan pages).
- Inbox eSIM
- Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
- Operated by Mobile Maya Inc., with an address in Nassau, Bahamas. source
- Fair use: usage unlike normal individual use may be deprioritised during congestion. source
- Cruise passes cost USD 49.99 for 3 days up to USD 299.99 for 30 days. source
- Rewards: 1 point per USD 4.99 spent, worth USD 0.33 each, valid 180 days; referral gives 10 points each. source
- Priced by days, not GB: Japan read at USD 11.90 for 3 days, 27.50 for 7 days, 73.90 for 30 days. source
- "Always On": 1 GB of backup data every 30 days in 150+ countries while the eSIM stays installed. source
- Terms bar domestic use and limit each continuous stay in one destination to 90 days. source
- Since 28 Sep 2026 an unactivated plan can be transferred to another person once. source
Which one to pick
Pick Maya Mobile if
- You visit many countries on one trip and want a single flat price per day that covers all of them.
- You are taking a cruise: Maya sells an add-on for 20+ cruise lines on the same eSIM.
- You want to pay by the day and never count gigabytes.
Pick Holafly if
- You stream or work heavily on your phone for a set number of days and do not want to track GB at all.
- You book far ahead: an unactivated Holafly eSIM can be refunded up to 6 months after purchase (ours: 30 days).
- You travel every month and want one subscription that renews, with a local number for incoming SMS.
- You want to pay with PayPal.
Or neither, if
- You would rather skip the app and the account.
- You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Questions
Do Maya Mobile and Holafly need an app?
Maya Mobile: Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.. Holafly: No app needed to buy: checkout on the website with an email; the app is optional (log in with that email)..
What are their refund rules?
Maya Mobile: No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.. Holafly: Not activated, within 6 months: full refund to the original payment method. Used: partial, USD 3.50 fee..
Can I use them as a hotspot?
Maya Mobile: Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.. Holafly: Limited per destination: for example 1 GB of shareable data per day in Japan (7 GB on a 7-day plan)..
Which is better for unlimited data?
Maya Mobile: FAQ says no throttling; Terms say a daily high-speed quota (size not stated), then standard speed.. Holafly: No fixed cap; local networks may slow heavy users for up to a day. Hotspot is capped per destination..
Is there an option without an app?
Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.
Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.
Find your country →