Skip to content

Nomad vs Saily

App and web eSIM store with fixed-GB, daily and unlimited plans in 200+ destinations. App-based travel eSIM from Nord Security (maker of NordVPN) with fixed-GB and unlimited plans. Their prices could not both be read, so this compares how they work. We sell eSIMs too (Inbox eSIM), shown as a third column so you can judge.

NomadAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
NomadAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.

How they differ

Nomad and Saily feature by feature, with Inbox eSIM as a third column
FeatureNomadSailyInbox eSIM
PlansFixed-GB, daily and "unlimited" plans (country, regional, global), long Global-EX plans and the Nomad Pass.sourceFixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.sourceFixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or accountAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.sourceAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.sourceNone: no app and no account
How you get itQR code and manual details by email, plus one-tap install and instructions in the app.sourceInstalled from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.sourceQR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days startOn connecting to a local network at the destination; otherwise on day 60 after purchase.sourceWhen the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.sourceWhen the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
HotspotSupported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network.sourceAllowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.sourceUsually allowed; the local network can still limit it
Top-upsAdd-ons on the same eSIM for many plans; not buyable while you are in China, the UAE or India.sourceYes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.sourceYes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone numberMostly data only; Thailand (TRUE) and UK/Maldives calling plans include a phone number.sourceOptional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.sourceNo: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
RefundsNot installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund.sourceNot installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.sourceUnused and never installed: full refund to the card within 30 days
Support24/7 live chat (website and app) and email.source24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.sourceEmail, around the clock; a person answers
PaymentVisa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, JCB, UnionPay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal.sourceCredit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.sourceCard, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)

Plans

Nomad
Fixed-GB, daily and "unlimited" plans (country, regional, global), long Global-EX plans and the Nomad Pass.
Saily
Fixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.
Inbox eSIM
Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries

App or account

Nomad
Account needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.
Saily
Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
Inbox eSIM
None: no app and no account

How you get it

Nomad
QR code and manual details by email, plus one-tap install and instructions in the app.
Saily
Installed from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.
Inbox eSIM
QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying

When days start

Nomad
On connecting to a local network at the destination; otherwise on day 60 after purchase.
Saily
When the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.
Inbox eSIM
When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country

Hotspot

Nomad
Supported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network.
Saily
Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.
Inbox eSIM
Usually allowed; the local network can still limit it

Top-ups

Nomad
Add-ons on the same eSIM for many plans; not buyable while you are in China, the UAE or India.
Saily
Yes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.
Inbox eSIM
Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page

Phone number

Nomad
Mostly data only; Thailand (TRUE) and UK/Maldives calling plans include a phone number.
Saily
Optional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.
Inbox eSIM
No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM

Refunds

Nomad
Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund.
Saily
Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.
Inbox eSIM
Unused and never installed: full refund to the card within 30 days

Support

Nomad
24/7 live chat (website and app) and email.
Saily
24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.
Inbox eSIM
Email, around the clock; a person answers

Payment

Nomad
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, JCB, UnionPay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal.
Saily
Credit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.
Inbox eSIM
Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
Nomad
  • Referral: the friend gets USD 5 off and you get USD 5 off a USD 10+ order, up to 5 times. source
  • Nomad Points: 100 points equal USD 1 and do not expire. source
  • Plans bought with a discount code become non-refundable once installed or activated. source
  • New Nomad Pass (app only, from 20 Oct 2026): 30 to 365-day terms; the eSIM stays usable for 3 years. source
Saily
  • Built by Nord Security, the company behind NordVPN. source
  • Free extras in the app: ad blocker, web protection and virtual location (115+ locations). source
  • Partial refunds after use are at Saily's discretion; a decision comes within 5 working days. source
  • Ultra subscribers get 8% of data plan purchases back as Saily credits. source

Which one to pick

Nomad

Pick Nomad if

  • You need a local phone number in Thailand or a UK/Maldives calling plan, which Nomad sells.
  • You are new to eSIMs and want to try one first: Nomad offers new users a free 1 GB trial eSIM.
  • You travel often and want the Nomad Pass: one eSIM, 1 GB backup data each cycle and 15% off add-ons.
  • You want to pay with PayPal.
Saily

Pick Saily if

  • You want an ad blocker, web protection and a virtual location built into the travel data app.
  • You need a real phone number: Saily sells a US (+1) number with calls and SMS as an add-on.
  • You want unlimited plans with 5 GB a day at full speed (our Day Pass gives 3 GB a day).
  • You want to pay with PayPal.
Inbox eSIM

Or neither, if

  • You would rather skip the app and the account.
  • You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Inbox eSIM prices →

Questions

Do Nomad and Saily need an app?

Nomad: Account needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.. Saily: Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM..

What are their refund rules?

Nomad: Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund.. Saily: Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated..

Can I use them as a hotspot?

Nomad: Supported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network.. Saily: Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies..

Which is better for unlimited data?

Nomad: Most plans: 2 GB per day at high speed, then about 1 or 2 Mbps; resets every 24 hours. Non-refundable.. Saily: 5 GB at high speed per 24 hours, then 1 Mbps for the rest of that period (Ultra Premium: 30 GB a month)..

Is there an option without an app?

Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.

Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.

Find your country →