Skip to content

Yesim vs Saily

App-based travel eSIM from Genesis Group AG in Switzerland, with fixed-GB, unlimited and pay-per-MB plans and a global day pass. App-based travel eSIM from Nord Security (maker of NordVPN) with fixed-GB and unlimited plans. Their prices could not both be read, so this compares how they work. We sell eSIMs too (Inbox eSIM), shown as a third column so you can judge.

YesimAccount required: you log in to a Yesim account to buy, in the app or on yesim.app.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
YesimAccount required: you log in to a Yesim account to buy, in the app or on yesim.app.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.

A third option: Inbox eSIM, no app and no account, QR by email.Find your country →

How they differ

Yesim and Saily feature by feature, with Inbox eSIM as a third column
FeatureYesimSailyInbox eSIM
PlansFixed-GB plans, unlimited plans in some destinations, Pay & Fly (pay per MB used) and an annual global Unlim Day Pass whose days are used one at a time within 365 days.sourceFixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.sourceFixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or accountAccount required: you log in to a Yesim account to buy, in the app or on yesim.app.sourceAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.sourceNone: no app and no account
How you get itQR code by email to the account's address after payment, or installed from the app.sourceInstalled from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.sourceQR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days startDepends on the plan: at purchase, at install, or at the first connection to a supported network; the plan description says which.sourceWhen the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.sourceWhen the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
HotspotAllowed on most plans at no extra charge; hotspot data counts against the plan, and a local network may restrict it.sourceAllowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.sourceAllowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)
Top-upsYes: extra data at any time in the app or on the website; optional auto-renewal with 20% off each renewal.sourceYes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.sourceYes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone numberData only, no number. Virtual numbers are sold separately (UK, US, Netherlands, Canada; EUR 6 a month) and receive SMS only.sourceOptional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.sourceNo: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
RefundsWithin 30 days if not installed, connected or used, to the original payment method; refunds of EUR 10 or less only as Ycoins (in-app balance); app faults must be reported within 1 hour.sourceNot installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.sourceUnused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)
Support24/7 live chat in the app and on yesim.app, and email (support@yesim.app); no phone line stated.source24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.sourceEmail, around the clock; a person answers
PaymentVisa, Mastercard, Amex, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay (in the apps), Klarna, iDEAL, Binance Pay, crypto and Ycoins.sourceCredit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.sourceCard, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)

Plans

Yesim
Fixed-GB plans, unlimited plans in some destinations, Pay & Fly (pay per MB used) and an annual global Unlim Day Pass whose days are used one at a time within 365 days.
Saily
Fixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.
Inbox eSIM
Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries

App or account

Yesim
Account required: you log in to a Yesim account to buy, in the app or on yesim.app.
Saily
Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
Inbox eSIM
None: no app and no account

How you get it

Yesim
QR code by email to the account's address after payment, or installed from the app.
Saily
Installed from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.
Inbox eSIM
QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying

When days start

Yesim
Depends on the plan: at purchase, at install, or at the first connection to a supported network; the plan description says which.
Saily
When the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.
Inbox eSIM
When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country

Hotspot

Yesim
Allowed on most plans at no extra charge; hotspot data counts against the plan, and a local network may restrict it.
Saily
Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.
Inbox eSIM
Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)

Top-ups

Yesim
Yes: extra data at any time in the app or on the website; optional auto-renewal with 20% off each renewal.
Saily
Yes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.
Inbox eSIM
Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page

Phone number

Yesim
Data only, no number. Virtual numbers are sold separately (UK, US, Netherlands, Canada; EUR 6 a month) and receive SMS only.
Saily
Optional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.
Inbox eSIM
No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM

Refunds

Yesim
Within 30 days if not installed, connected or used, to the original payment method; refunds of EUR 10 or less only as Ycoins (in-app balance); app faults must be reported within 1 hour.
Saily
Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.
Inbox eSIM
Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)

Support

Yesim
24/7 live chat in the app and on yesim.app, and email (support@yesim.app); no phone line stated.
Saily
24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.
Inbox eSIM
Email, around the clock; a person answers

Payment

Yesim
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, PayPal, Apple Pay and Google Pay (in the apps), Klarna, iDEAL, Binance Pay, crypto and Ycoins.
Saily
Credit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.
Inbox eSIM
Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
Yesim
  • Run by Genesis Group AG, Baar, Switzerland. source
  • Refunds of EUR 10 or less come back as Ycoins, not to the card. source
  • Unlim Day Pass packs: EUR 34 for 7 days up to EUR 149 for 60 days, valid 365 days from purchase. source
Saily
  • Built by Nord Security, the company behind NordVPN. source
  • Free extras in the app: ad blocker, web protection and virtual location (115+ locations). source
  • Partial refunds after use are at Saily's discretion; a decision comes within 5 working days. source
  • Ultra subscribers get 8% of data plan purchases back as Saily credits. source

Which one to pick

Yesim

Pick Yesim if

  • You travel several times a year: the Unlim Day Pass days stay valid for 365 days and are used only on days you go online, in 83 countries.
  • You would rather pay for the MB you use than pick a plan size (Pay & Fly).
  • You need a separate number to receive SMS codes for an app (sold as a virtual number).
Saily

Pick Saily if

  • You want an ad blocker, web protection and a virtual location built into the travel data app.
  • You need a real phone number: Saily sells a US (+1) number with calls and SMS as an add-on.
  • You want unlimited plans with 5 GB a day at full speed (our Day Pass gives 3 GB a day).
  • You want to pay with PayPal.
Inbox eSIM

Or neither, if

  • You would rather skip the app and the account.
  • You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Inbox eSIM prices →

Questions

Do Yesim and Saily need an app?

Yesim: Account required: you log in to a Yesim account to buy, in the app or on yesim.app.. Saily: Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM..

What are their refund rules?

Yesim: Within 30 days if not installed, connected or used, to the original payment method; refunds of EUR 10 or less only as Ycoins (in-app balance); app faults must be reported within 1 hour.. Saily: Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated..

Can I use them as a hotspot?

Yesim: Allowed on most plans at no extra charge; hotspot data counts against the plan, and a local network may restrict it.. Saily: Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies..

Which is better for unlimited data?

Yesim: Unlimited plans in some destinations; Yesim sets no fair use cap itself, but the partner network's own fair use policy can slow heavy use. Saily: 5 GB at high speed per 24 hours, then 1 Mbps for the rest of that period (Ultra Premium: 30 GB a month)..

Is there an option without an app?

Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.

Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.

Find your country →