Skip to content

Maya Mobile vs Saily

One global eSIM sold as unlimited-data passes of 3 to 30 days across 165+ countries. App-based travel eSIM from Nord Security (maker of NordVPN) with fixed-GB and unlimited plans. Their prices could not both be read, so this compares how they work. We sell eSIMs too (Inbox eSIM), shown as a third column so you can judge.

Maya MobileAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
Maya MobileAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
VS
SailyAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.

A third option: Inbox eSIM, no app and no account, QR by email.Find your country →

How they differ

Maya Mobile and Saily feature by feature, with Inbox eSIM as a third column
FeatureMaya MobileSailyInbox eSIM
PlansFour global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.sourceFixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.sourceFixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or accountAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.sourceAccount required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.sourceNone: no app and no account
How you get itInstall once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.sourceInstalled from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.sourceQR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days startWhen you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.sourceWhen the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.sourceWhen the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
HotspotAllowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.sourceAllowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.sourceAllowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)
Top-upsBuy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.sourceYes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.sourceYes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone numberNot stated on their site; passes are described as data only.sourceOptional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.sourceNo: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
RefundsNo data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.sourceNot installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.sourceUnused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)
Support24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.source24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.sourceEmail, around the clock; a person answers
PaymentApple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.sourceCredit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.sourceCard, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)

Plans

Maya Mobile
Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.
Saily
Fixed-GB plans from 1 GB, unlimited plans in select places, country, regional and global, plus Ultra subscriptions.
Inbox eSIM
Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries

App or account

Maya Mobile
Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
Saily
Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM.
Inbox eSIM
None: no app and no account

How you get it

Maya Mobile
Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.
Saily
Installed from the Saily app; manual setup uses details shown in the app.
Inbox eSIM
QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying

When days start

Maya Mobile
When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.
Saily
When the phone connects to a supported network at the destination; it starts by itself 180 days after purchase.
Inbox eSIM
When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country

Hotspot

Maya Mobile
Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.
Saily
Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies.
Inbox eSIM
Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)

Top-ups

Maya Mobile
Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.
Saily
Yes, on the same eSIM in the app: a one-time top-up or Auto top-up when data runs out.
Inbox eSIM
Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page

Phone number

Maya Mobile
Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.
Saily
Optional add-on: a US (+1) number with call and SMS packages, USD 1.99 a month plus usage packs.
Inbox eSIM
No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM

Refunds

Maya Mobile
No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.
Saily
Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated.
Inbox eSIM
Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)

Support

Maya Mobile
24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.
Saily
24/7 live chat (in the app only) and email; no phone support.
Inbox eSIM
Email, around the clock; a person answers

Payment

Maya Mobile
Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.
Saily
Credit and debit cards, PayPal, Apple Pay (iOS) and Google Pay, in the app or on the website.
Inbox eSIM
Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
Maya Mobile
  • Operated by Mobile Maya Inc., with an address in Nassau, Bahamas. source
  • Fair use: usage unlike normal individual use may be deprioritised during congestion. source
  • Cruise passes cost USD 49.99 for 3 days up to USD 299.99 for 30 days. source
  • Rewards: 1 point per USD 4.99 spent, worth USD 0.33 each, valid 180 days; referral gives 10 points each. source
Saily
  • Built by Nord Security, the company behind NordVPN. source
  • Free extras in the app: ad blocker, web protection and virtual location (115+ locations). source
  • Partial refunds after use are at Saily's discretion; a decision comes within 5 working days. source
  • Ultra subscribers get 8% of data plan purchases back as Saily credits. source

Which one to pick

Maya Mobile

Pick Maya Mobile if

  • You visit many countries on one trip and want a single flat price per day that covers all of them.
  • You are taking a cruise: Maya sells an add-on for 20+ cruise lines on the same eSIM.
  • You want to pay by the day and never count gigabytes.
Saily

Pick Saily if

  • You want an ad blocker, web protection and a virtual location built into the travel data app.
  • You need a real phone number: Saily sells a US (+1) number with calls and SMS as an add-on.
  • You want unlimited plans with 5 GB a day at full speed (our Day Pass gives 3 GB a day).
  • You want to pay with PayPal.
Inbox eSIM

Or neither, if

  • You would rather skip the app and the account.
  • You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Inbox eSIM prices →

Questions

Do Maya Mobile and Saily need an app?

Maya Mobile: Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.. Saily: Account required. Plans can be bought on the website, but the Saily app is needed to install the eSIM..

What are their refund rules?

Maya Mobile: No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.. Saily: Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: full refund. Card or credit is not stated..

Can I use them as a hotspot?

Maya Mobile: Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.. Saily: Allowed; hotspot data counts against the plan and the fair use policy applies..

Which is better for unlimited data?

Maya Mobile: FAQ says no throttling; Terms say a daily high-speed quota (size not stated), then standard speed.. Saily: 5 GB at high speed per 24 hours, then 1 Mbps for the rest of that period (Ultra Premium: 30 GB a month)..

Is there an option without an app?

Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.

Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.

Find your country →