Skip to content

Maya Mobile vs Nomad

One global eSIM sold as unlimited-data passes of 3 to 30 days across 165+ countries. App and web eSIM store with fixed-GB, daily and unlimited plans in 200+ destinations. Their prices could not both be read, so this compares how they work. We sell eSIMs too (Inbox eSIM), shown as a third column so you can judge.

Maya MobileAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
VS
NomadAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.
Maya MobileAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
VS
NomadAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.

A third option: Inbox eSIM, no app and no account, QR by email.Find your country →

How they differ

Maya Mobile and Nomad feature by feature, with Inbox eSIM as a third column
FeatureMaya MobileNomadInbox eSIM
PlansFour global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.sourceFixed-GB, daily and "unlimited" plans (country, regional, global), long Global-EX plans and the Nomad Pass.sourceFixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or accountAccount required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.sourceAccount needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.sourceNone: no app and no account
How you get itInstall once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.sourceQR code and manual details by email, plus one-tap install and instructions in the app.sourceQR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days startWhen you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.sourceOn connecting to a local network at the destination; otherwise on day 60 after purchase.sourceWhen the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
HotspotAllowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.sourceSupported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network.sourceAllowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)
Top-upsBuy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.sourceAdd-ons on the same eSIM for many plans; not buyable while you are in China, the UAE or India.sourceYes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone numberNot stated on their site; passes are described as data only.sourceMostly data only; Thailand (TRUE) and UK/Maldives calling plans include a phone number.sourceNo: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
RefundsNo data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.sourceNot installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund.sourceUnused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)
Support24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.source24/7 live chat (website and app) and email.sourceEmail, around the clock; a person answers
PaymentApple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.sourceVisa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, JCB, UnionPay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal.sourceCard, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)

Plans

Maya Mobile
Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.
Nomad
Fixed-GB, daily and "unlimited" plans (country, regional, global), long Global-EX plans and the Nomad Pass.
Inbox eSIM
Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries

App or account

Maya Mobile
Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
Nomad
Account needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website.
Inbox eSIM
None: no app and no account

How you get it

Maya Mobile
Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.
Nomad
QR code and manual details by email, plus one-tap install and instructions in the app.
Inbox eSIM
QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying

When days start

Maya Mobile
When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.
Nomad
On connecting to a local network at the destination; otherwise on day 60 after purchase.
Inbox eSIM
When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country

Hotspot

Maya Mobile
Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.
Nomad
Supported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network.
Inbox eSIM
Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)

Top-ups

Maya Mobile
Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.
Nomad
Add-ons on the same eSIM for many plans; not buyable while you are in China, the UAE or India.
Inbox eSIM
Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page

Phone number

Maya Mobile
Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.
Nomad
Mostly data only; Thailand (TRUE) and UK/Maldives calling plans include a phone number.
Inbox eSIM
No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM

Refunds

Maya Mobile
No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.
Nomad
Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund.
Inbox eSIM
Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)

Support

Maya Mobile
24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.
Nomad
24/7 live chat (website and app) and email.
Inbox eSIM
Email, around the clock; a person answers

Payment

Maya Mobile
Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.
Nomad
Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, JCB, UnionPay, Apple Pay, Google Pay and PayPal.
Inbox eSIM
Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
Maya Mobile
  • Operated by Mobile Maya Inc., with an address in Nassau, Bahamas. source
  • Fair use: usage unlike normal individual use may be deprioritised during congestion. source
  • Cruise passes cost USD 49.99 for 3 days up to USD 299.99 for 30 days. source
  • Rewards: 1 point per USD 4.99 spent, worth USD 0.33 each, valid 180 days; referral gives 10 points each. source
Nomad
  • Referral: the friend gets USD 5 off and you get USD 5 off a USD 10+ order, up to 5 times. source
  • Nomad Points: 100 points equal USD 1 and do not expire. source
  • Plans bought with a discount code become non-refundable once installed or activated. source
  • New Nomad Pass (app only, from 20 Oct 2026): 30 to 365-day terms; the eSIM stays usable for 3 years. source

Which one to pick

Maya Mobile

Pick Maya Mobile if

  • You visit many countries on one trip and want a single flat price per day that covers all of them.
  • You are taking a cruise: Maya sells an add-on for 20+ cruise lines on the same eSIM.
  • You want to pay by the day and never count gigabytes.
Nomad

Pick Nomad if

  • You need a local phone number in Thailand or a UK/Maldives calling plan, which Nomad sells.
  • You are new to eSIMs and want to try one first: Nomad offers new users a free 1 GB trial eSIM.
  • You travel often and want the Nomad Pass: one eSIM, 1 GB backup data each cycle and 15% off add-ons.
  • You want to pay with PayPal.
Inbox eSIM

Or neither, if

  • You would rather skip the app and the account.
  • You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Inbox eSIM prices →

Questions

Do Maya Mobile and Nomad need an app?

Maya Mobile: Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.. Nomad: Account needed (the QR goes to your registered email); buy in the Nomad app or on the website..

What are their refund rules?

Maya Mobile: No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.. Nomad: Not installed or not activated, within 30 days: to the card or as Nomad Points. Unlimited plans: no refund..

Can I use them as a hotspot?

Maya Mobile: Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.. Nomad: Supported, though Nomad says stability depends on the device and local network..

Which is better for unlimited data?

Maya Mobile: FAQ says no throttling; Terms say a daily high-speed quota (size not stated), then standard speed.. Nomad: Most plans: 2 GB per day at high speed, then about 1 or 2 Mbps; resets every 24 hours. Non-refundable..

Is there an option without an app?

Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.

Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.

Find your country →