A third option: Inbox eSIM, no app and no account, QR by email.Find your country →
How they differ
| Feature | MMMaya Mobile | AAiralo | IEInbox eSIM |
|---|---|---|---|
| Plans | Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.source | Fixed-GB local, regional and global packs in 200+ places; unlimited packs in 130+ countries and regions.source | Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries |
| App or account | Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.source | Account required: you sign up or log in before buying, on airalo.com or in the Airalo app.source | None: no app and no account |
| How you get it | Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.source | Install in the app, or use the QR code or manual details shown under My eSIMs in your account.source | QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying |
| When days start | When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.source | Most packs start when the eSIM connects to a supported network at the destination; some start on install.source | When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country |
| Hotspot | Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.source | Allowed when the device and network support it; on unlimited packs it counts toward the daily allowance.source | Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it) |
| Top-ups | Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.source | Only on eSIMs marked rechargeable; optional Renewals buy the same pack again when 10% data is left.source | Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page |
| Phone number | Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.source | Most packs are data only; some "Data, Voice & Text" packs (such as Discover+) include calls and texts.source | No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM |
| Refunds | No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.source | "Wrong purchase" or "plans changed": Airmoney credit only. Install or not-working issues: Airmoney or card.source | Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK) |
| Support | 24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.source | 24/7 live chat on the website and in the app, plus WhatsApp and email.source | Email, around the clock; a person answers |
| Payment | Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.source | Visa, Mastercard, Amex, UnionPay, JCB, PayPal, Apple Pay (not in all countries), Google Pay, Alipay (app), Airmoney.source | Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe) |
Plans
- Maya Mobile
- Four global unlimited passes: 3 days USD 9.99, 7 days 19.99, 14 days 27.99, 30 days 49.99; cruise add-on.
- Airalo
- Fixed-GB local, regional and global packs in 200+ places; unlimited packs in 130+ countries and regions.
- Inbox eSIM
- Fixed GB (1 to 50 GB), country, regional and Global packs, plus a Day Pass in many countries
App or account
- Maya Mobile
- Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.
- Airalo
- Account required: you sign up or log in before buying, on airalo.com or in the Airalo app.
- Inbox eSIM
- None: no app and no account
How you get it
- Maya Mobile
- Install once via the Maya app or maya.net (QR code); the eSIM stays on the phone for later trips.
- Airalo
- Install in the app, or use the QR code or manual details shown under My eSIMs in your account.
- Inbox eSIM
- QR code and a one-tap Add eSIM link by email, about a minute after paying
When days start
- Maya Mobile
- When you switch the Maya eSIM on in your phone settings, not at install; days run back to back.
- Airalo
- Most packs start when the eSIM connects to a supported network at the destination; some start on install.
- Inbox eSIM
- When the eSIM first connects to a network in a covered country
Hotspot
- Maya Mobile
- Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.
- Airalo
- Allowed when the device and network support it; on unlimited packs it counts toward the daily allowance.
- Inbox eSIM
- Allowed, from the plan's GB; we never block it (a local network rarely limits it)
Top-ups
- Maya Mobile
- Buy another pass for the same eSIM; optional Auto Top-Up rebuys the same pass when it ends.
- Airalo
- Only on eSIMs marked rechargeable; optional Renewals buy the same pack again when 10% data is left.
- Inbox eSIM
- Yes, on the same eSIM, from the order page
Phone number
- Maya Mobile
- Not stated on their site; passes are described as data only.
- Airalo
- Most packs are data only; some "Data, Voice & Text" packs (such as Discover+) include calls and texts.
- Inbox eSIM
- No: data only. Your own number stays on your main SIM
Refunds
- Maya Mobile
- No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.
- Airalo
- "Wrong purchase" or "plans changed": Airmoney credit only. Install or not-working issues: Airmoney or card.
- Inbox eSIM
- Unused and never installed: refund to the card within 30 days, less the card fee (no card fee within 14 days in the EU and UK)
Support
- Maya Mobile
- 24/7 via WhatsApp, in the app and at maya.net.
- Airalo
- 24/7 live chat on the website and in the app, plus WhatsApp and email.
- Inbox eSIM
- Email, around the clock; a person answers
Payment
- Maya Mobile
- Apple Pay, Google Pay and major credit cards.
- Airalo
- Visa, Mastercard, Amex, UnionPay, JCB, PayPal, Apple Pay (not in all countries), Google Pay, Alipay (app), Airmoney.
- Inbox eSIM
- Card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, in your own currency (Stripe)
- Operated by Mobile Maya Inc., with an address in Nassau, Bahamas. source
- Fair use: usage unlike normal individual use may be deprioritised during congestion. source
- Cruise passes cost USD 49.99 for 3 days up to USD 299.99 for 30 days. source
- Rewards: 1 point per USD 4.99 spent, worth USD 0.33 each, valid 180 days; referral gives 10 points each. source
- Run by AirGSM Pte Ltd (Singapore), which describes Airalo as an aggregator and marketplace of connectivity providers. source
- Consumers may withdraw within 14 days of purchase, but only until the eSIM is activated. source
- Payments are usually processed in US dollars; other currencies are at Airalo's discretion. source
- Referral: the referrer gets USD 3 in Airmoney per referral; the friend gets a first-purchase discount. source
Which one to pick
Pick Maya Mobile if
- You visit many countries on one trip and want a single flat price per day that covers all of them.
- You are taking a cruise: Maya sells an add-on for 20+ cruise lines on the same eSIM.
- You want to pay by the day and never count gigabytes.
Pick Airalo if
- You want one app to buy, install, track and top up several eSIMs, with optional automatic renewals.
- You need calls and texts: some Airalo packs (such as Discover+) include them; ours are data only.
- You want to pay with PayPal or Alipay, or spend Airalo's Airmoney credit.
- You want unlimited data in a place where we sell no Day Pass (Airalo lists unlimited packs in 130+ places).
Or neither, if
- You would rather skip the app and the account.
- You want the QR by email and a refund to the card if you never install it.
Questions
Do Maya Mobile and Airalo need an app?
Maya Mobile: Account required to buy and install; the app is optional, as maya.net works too.. Airalo: Account required: you sign up or log in before buying, on airalo.com or in the Airalo app..
What are their refund rules?
Maya Mobile: No data used, within 30 days: full refund less processing fees, to the card or as Maya points.. Airalo: "Wrong purchase" or "plans changed": Airmoney credit only. Install or not-working issues: Airmoney or card..
Can I use them as a hotspot?
Maya Mobile: Allowed with no extra fee; reselling a hotspot commercially is banned.. Airalo: Allowed when the device and network support it; on unlimited packs it counts toward the daily allowance..
Which is better for unlimited data?
Maya Mobile: FAQ says no throttling; Terms say a daily high-speed quota (size not stated), then standard speed.. Airalo: 3 GB per day at 20 Mbps, then reduced speed; resets every 24 hours. Hotspot allowed, counted in the 3 GB..
Is there an option without an app?
Inbox eSIM (this site) sends the QR and a one-tap install link by email, with no app or account. We sell eSIMs, so weigh that; the prices above show where we are cheaper and where we are not.
Or skip the appInbox eSIM: QR and a one-tap install link by email, in about a minute.
Find your country →