Asia
Japan eSIM
Landmarks · Tokyo · Osaka · Kyoto · Sapporo · Fukuoka · Nagoya · Hiroshima · Okinawa
From $2.90. Data only, no app, and your home number keeps working.
Also going to South Korea? Both packs of this size: $9.58. Asia 14 regional covers both on one QR: $6.99.
Not sure which size? Work it out
7 days at about 600 MB a day ≈ 4.2 GB. 5 GB fits, $4.79.
Same 5 GB / 30 days: $4.79 here, $11.00 at Airalo. Checked 31 Oct 2026.
Day Pass
Unlimited data: 3 GB a day at full speed, then 1 Mbps with no cut-off until the allowance resets. For heavy days, video calls or sharing a hotspot.
- Hotspot works; it counts toward the 3 GB.
- 1 Mbps still runs maps, messages and mail; video calls in low quality.
- Days start: first attach to a covered network. The daily 3 GB is the only cap, and it is all written here.
- Routed through Hong Kong: a few local sites and apps may treat you as abroad.
- Refund if unusedNot installed? 30 days to cancel.
- QR by emailInstall on Wi-Fi, switch on when you land.
- Secure checkoutStripe. Card, Apple Pay, Google Pay. Pay in your own currency.
- Independent reviewRead our MyBestSim review.
- A person, not a botWrite any hour: a reply in minutes.
- Networks
- NTT docomoYour phone picks the strongest of these on its own. No setting to change.
- Top-up
- Same profileAdd more GB to this same eSIM later, from your order page. No new QR, nothing to install.
Prices checked 31 Oct 2026, in US dollars.
36 brands’ prices for Japan, side by side →
Also visiting South Korea? Plan the whole trip, one payment →
Japan only: 5 GB for 30 days is $4.79. Crossing borders? Asia regional covers 19 countries on one QR, Japan included: 5 GB for 30 days is $21.49.
QR mail in about a minute
Tap Add eSIM on Wi-Fi
Land, switch roaming on
Japan eSIM in numbers
- No app and no account: pay on this page and the QR code arrives by email in about a minute. The cheapest way in is 2 GB for 15 days at $2.90. How buying without an app works.
- 5 GB for 30 days costs $4.79, which is $0.96 a GB; the 50 GB pack brings it to $0.53 a GB.
- Heavy use: the Day Pass gives 3 GB a day at full speed, then 1 Mbps. 7 days cost $20.90.
- For 5 GB lasting 30 days, ours is number 6 of the 32 brands we compare for Japan; the lowest is MegaEsim at $3.78 (prices read 30 Oct to 31 Oct 2026). Every brand side by side.
- Each pack on its own page, with the same data at other brands: 2 GB, 15 days, 3 GB, 30 days, 5 GB, 30 days, 10 GB, 30 days, 20 GB, 30 days, 50 GB, 30 days.
eSIM, local SIM or pocket Wi-Fi in Japan?
A local SIM is often cheaper per GB. The difference is where you get it and what it asks for. Prices from each operator’s own page, read 17 Oct 2026.
Compare 4 options: price, where to get it, ID
| Option | What you get | Price | How you get it | ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inbox eSIM | 5 GB / 30 days | $4.79 | Online before you fly; QR by email, installs on Wi-Fi | None |
| b-mobile Visitor SIM | 5 GB for 10 days | ¥1,980 (about $12.50) plus delivery | Delivered to an airport post office or your hotel | Not stated |
| Sakura Mobile data SIM | 3 GB a day or unlimited, 4 to 93 days | From ¥3,850 (about $24.40) | Pickup at Narita, Haneda, Kansai or Fukuoka, or hotel delivery | Not stated |
| Pocket Wi-Fi: Japan Wireless pocket Wi-Fi | Unlimited data on a router you carry | From $4.70 a day | Pickup at six airports or hotel delivery, return by post | Not stated |
Before you land in Japan
Install at home on Wi-Fi, then switch the line on when you land. If you are weighing a rental router, see eSIM or pocket Wi-Fi.
6 things to know, each with its source
- Narita has free Wi-Fi (FreeWiFi-NARITA) in every terminal: accept the terms on the portal, no setup needed. Narita Airport
- Haneda's free network is HANEDA-FREE-WIFI; it does not work inside shops and can be patchy in places. Haneda Airport
- Kansai Airport Wi-Fi is free with no sign-up (#AirportFreeWiFi-Kansai). Kansai Airport
- NTT docomo closed its 3G network on 31 March 2026, so 3G-only phones no longer connect on docomo. NTT docomo
- SoftBank's free visitor Wi-Fi asks for a mobile phone number to register, so a data-only eSIM alone may not qualify. SoftBank
- Your phone must be unlocked to use a Japanese SIM or eSIM. Japan National Tourism Organization
Read before you go: Japan and South Korea on one eSIM · Home roaming or a travel eSIM? What a week costs · Day Pass or a GB pack: which travel eSIM to buy · How much travel data do you need? Per-app numbers · Japan eSIM or pocket Wi-Fi? Prices, battery, returns · eSIMs for a family or group: several phones, one payment · Gift a travel eSIM by email, on the day you choose
Questions
What is the best eSIM for Japan?
For most trips, 5 GB for 30 days is enough: $4.79 here, against $11.00 at Airalo for the same data (read 31 Oct 2026). It is data only and needs no app: the QR code and a one-tap install link arrive by email. For heavy use there is also a Day Pass: 3 GB a day at full speed. Every brand's price for Japan, dated and sourced, is on our comparison page.
Is there an unlimited eSIM for Japan?
Yes: our Day Pass is unlimited data, 3 GB a day at full speed and then 1 Mbps with no cut-off, and 7 days cost $20.90 here. Other brands' "unlimited" plans for 7 days: Nomad $25.00 (2GB/day at 4G/5G. 1 Mbps after 2GB); Jetpac $25.99 (first 3 GB every 24 hours at standard network speeds); Airalo $26.50 (unlimited with a daily high-speed allowance); Holafly $27.50 (unlimited, hotspot 1 GB a day) (prices read 30 Oct to 31 Oct 2026). Read each one's terms: "unlimited" often means a daily allowance at full speed.
Which Japan eSIM for a month?
Every one of these lasts 30 days: 3 GB $3.69, 5 GB $4.79, 10 GB $7.79, 20 GB $13.19, 50 GB $26.69. The 30 days start when the eSIM first connects to a network there, so you can buy before the trip.
Can I buy a Japan eSIM without an app?
Yes. You pay on this page and the QR code and a one-tap install link arrive by email: no app and no account. It is data only, with no phone number, so your home SIM keeps your calls and SMS.
Does the Japan eSIM come with a phone number?
No. It is data only: no local number, calls or SMS on this eSIM. Your home SIM stays in the phone for calls and texts (your carrier's roaming rates apply to them), and WhatsApp, FaceTime or Signal calls run over the eSIM's data. If you need a local number in Japan, for example for a service that texts a code, buy a local SIM there.
Which Japan eSIM for a week or two?
The 30-day packs cover one or two weeks too: 3 GB $3.69, 5 GB $4.79. Day Pass, 3 GB a day at full speed and then 1 Mbps: 7 days $20.90, 14 days $39.90.
12 more questions
Will WhatsApp keep my number with a Japan eSIM?
Yes. WhatsApp stays on your home number: this eSIM is data only and has no number. Leave your home SIM in the phone with its data roaming off, use the Japan eSIM for mobile data, and do not re-register WhatsApp.
Is a Japan eSIM cheaper than roaming?
Usually, for a trip of more than a day or two. US carriers charge $12 a day for roaming (AT&T International Day Pass, Verizon TravelPass, read 31 Oct 2026) where they cover Japan, so a week costs $84. Here 5 GB for 30 days is $4.79 in total.
How much is the Japan eSIM?
From $2.90 in USD, and the price on this page is the price you pay. Sizes run from the 1 GB pack up; pick one in the list above.
When does the Japan plan start?
First attach to a covered network. Install on Wi-Fi before you fly. After you land, turn data roaming on for this line.
Can I hotspot in Japan?
Yes, it uses the same GB. We never block it; rarely, a local network limits it.
Which networks in Japan?
NTT docomo. Your phone joins whichever of these is strongest where you are.
Is this 5G in Japan?
This pack runs on 3G/4G/5G. You get 5G where the local network offers it to visitors, otherwise 4G.
What APN do I use in Japan?
Automatic unless the QR mail names one
Can I use this Japan eSIM in another country?
No. This pack is Japan. A new country is a new QR. Keep this one if you return.
Can I top up the Japan plan?
Same profile, same coverage. Extra GB is a top-up, not a new QR.
How long do I have to install the Japan eSIM?
Start using within 180 days of purchase. After that an unused pack can expire. Scan on Wi-Fi before you fly.
What if I buy the wrong plan?
QR not scanned and not on the phone? Email within 30 days of issue. We cancel and refund. Installed? Buy the right country and keep this QR for later.
